Steamed Shrimp and Veggies

I finally did it! I used the wok and bamboo steamer my mom gave me during my bridal shower. I wish I would’ve done it sooner! 

This was fun because it kind of brought us back to our honey moon in Thailand. Even the shrimp we used came from there. 

I really couldn’t believe how easy and quick this was. I did some research prior but it didn’t seem hard to mess up so when it came down to time to actually give it a go, I did whatever I felt like doing. 
I highly reccomend investing in a bamboo steamer if you don’t already have one. The wok isn’t necessary, you can use another pot  and it may even be easier for you if the pot is just as wide or a bid smaller than the steamer so you don’t have to worry about boiling the food. 

I decided to do shrimp, asparagus, potatoes, mushrooms and onions for my first go around. I really wish I would’ve thought to do tomatoes but I didn’t until it was too late. 

I’m going to do these directions a little differently because there really isn’t much to it. 

The process: 

1. Put your liquid/spices in the wok. Make sure the liquid is not going into the bamboo steamer when you place it on top. You want to steam the food, not boil it. 

I used the following for my liquid but you can have some fun with it and try out different flavor combos. 

  • Chicken broth 
  • Garlic salt
  • Onion powder
  • Pepper
  • Chili pepper

2.  Add veggies to your chambers

I have a two chamber steamer. I made sure to rinse each chamber out with hot water before adding anything. 

I then cut small pieces of parchment paper to put into the chamber to avoid having the food stick to the steamer. Make sure the paper doesn’t cover the whole bottom because you need steam to be able to get through. 

Layer your veggies and proteins in the chambers. Put the heavier items on the bottom chamber because take longer to cook. 

Here is my bottom chamber: 

Asparagus, potatoes, mushrooms, onion and garlic. 


My top chamber, shrimp and onions. 


3. Heat your liquid and bring to a boil then lower heat.  Place the chambers respectively above the liquid in the wok and cover. You want to make sure that You have enough liquid to steam the food while also being sure it doesn’t boil into the steamer. 


I left the steamer over the liquid for 8-10 minutes. You can check on it to make sure the food has the doneness you desire. Shrimp are easy because they turn pink. 

Here’s what each chamber looked like when I finished. 


I also made rice separately. You can do this in the steamer but I didn’t plan far enough ahead of time. 


Yum! So healthy, easy and good! Again, I highly reccomend and I cannot wait to try ours again. I think I’m going to tackle dumplings next time so keep an eye out. 

Leave a Reply

