Ham and Potato Soup

Wow I’ve been gone for awhile. I apologize. We got married, went to Thailand and found out we’re expecting shortly after. I promise I’ll do a wedding write up eventually. 

Warning : The first trimester is NO joke. 

Now that I’ve entered my second trimester I finally have an appetite and the energy to cook. 

Yesterday I spent all day craving potato soup and unfortunately no one around was offering it so I decided to make some once I got home. 

My husband was very hestitant about his one because he hates veggies. Little did he know I actually doubled the veggies for the baby’s sake 🙂 

This is a quick recipe that is done in 30 min or less. 
What you need:

  • 3 diced and peeled russet potatoes 
  • 1 cup sliced carrots 
  • ½ chopped white onion 
  • 2 ½ cups chicken broth 
  • ¼ cup butter cubed
  • 2 cups of corn 
  • ¼ cup all purpose flour 
  • 2 cups shredded cheddar 
  • 2 cups of 2% milk
  • Salt and pepper 

The process:

  1. Put potatoes, carrots, onions and brother  in a large sauce pan. Bring to a boil then lower the heat, cover and allow to simmer for 15 minutes or until potatoes are tender. 
  2. Melt the butter in a separate, small sauce pan. 
  3. Add flour to the butter and stir mixed well. 
  4. Add salt and pepper to  the flour mixture to taste. 
  5. Slowly whisk milk into the flour mixture. Bring to a boil and stir until thickened. 
  6. Add your flour mixture to the potato mixture. Then pour in cheese and stir until melted. 
  7. Add ham and corn and heat for about 5 min or until heated through 

I unfortunately didn’t get a picture but trust me this soup is amazing! I brought some for lunch today and already want more for dinner. 

I used the food processor to slice the onions and carrots very thin because I myself am not a fan of carrots and it worked out perfect. 

Let me know what you think! 

Leave a Reply

