String Art

This is another one that’s become increasingly popular since Pinterest. 

I had a babyshower to go to for Marks brothers girlfriend this weekend.  She likes elephants so naturally most gifts she received were elephant related. 

I decided to do a string art hanger of an elephant for the nursery. 
Here’s how it turned out 

 
Again, easy! Well at least I thought so. I’ve talked to two people who attempted the same thing but don’t seem to have the same opinion so maybe this will help. 

What you need

  • Wooden board of some sort. I found this one at Hobby Lobby 
  • Stencil of elephant or whatever you prefer
  • String
  • Paint if you want the board to be a different color 
  • Scissors 
  • Nails
  • Hammer
  • Cardstock – I had 3 different colors to add dimension
  • Adhesive Vinyl

How it’s done 

  1. First I painted the board silver. 
  2. Lay your stencil on the board where you what it and trace lightly with a pencil. 
  3. Nail nails onto the shape. I left about ⅓ an inch in between each nail but it’s up to you.
  4. Tie string around one nail and begin threading the string around the nails. I ended up doing this about 3-4 times before I was satisfied with how full it turned out. 
  5. Cut butterfly’s of different sizes out on each color of card stock.
  6. Cut initials or monogram out of vinyl with the silhouette.  You could also probably just use stickers if you wanted to save time. 
  7. Place letters where you want them. 
  8. I wanted the elephant to look as if he was blowing butterflies out of the trunk so I placed them in that order and glued them down with tacky glue. 

I think in all I maybe spent 1 -1.5 hours on it. His is a fun project with many options so play around with it before you settle on an idea. 

Step by step pics. 

After I painted the board. I used a silver sparkle paint from target so that it still looked like wood. 

 
I used my silhouette to cut out the elephant stencil from cardstock. 

 

After I traced it I began hammering nails. You can see a few crooked ones but I was able to straighten them out. This is definitely the hardest part and prob easier for people with smaller fingers. 

All wrapped up in string. I just switched directions back and forth as I did it. It’s really a personal preference. 

The butterflies I cut using my silhouette.  All done 🙂 

Leave a Reply

