Chicken N Noodles 

Homemade chicken noodles are a tradition in my family. I’ve been helping my mom make them and eating them since I can remember.

We typically have them on Christmas Eve but with the colder weather I figured it was time to make them again.

What I love about this recipe is that I always have the ingredients on hand at home.

I used the crockpot this time but sometimes I just make them stove top.

What you need:

  • 4 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 3 cups flour
  • 3 cubes chicken boullion
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 3 chicken breast
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • Salt and Pepper to Taste

The process:

  1. Cook chicken in water with 3 boullion cubes, shred after it has cooled down.
  2.  Combine eggs, water, salt, oil in a bowl.
  3. Slowly add flour to bowl as you mix the ingredients. You may not end up using all the flour.
  4. Roll into a ball and let sit for at least 1 hour or over night.  This helps ensure the noodles do not fall apart when you drop them in.
  5. When you are ready to make the noodles, bring a large pot of water to boil.
  6.  Lay your dough on a flat surface and flatten with a rolling pin until about 1/4 inch thick. Cut small lines across the dough. Remember your noodles will GROW.( I like to make them larger so they are more like a dumpling but its all up to your preference)
  7. Drop the noodles into your pot of boiling water. The water HAS to be hot or your noodles will become mush.
  8. From here its really up to you as to how you want to eat the dish or how much time you have. Sometimes I  add the chicken, salt and pepper directly to the pot and let it simmer for 30 – 45 min. OR for more flavor, after the noodles have cooked for 10-15 min, I transfer it to a crockpot, mix in chicken, salt and pepper and let it cook overnight (5-6 hours on low).

Its hard to go wrong here or make these taste bad. My fiancé even made this batch on his own with (almost) no supervision.

 

Leave a Reply

