Eggs in a Basket

Here’s another quick bite for you all. 

I mentioned before that I’m trying to do one post a week. It’s really hard because I’m trying to keep some wedding things a surprise and it basically occupies 85% of my life right now. 
Anyway, I had a winery date this Sunday and Mark was asking for food before I left because he’s ALWAYS hungry. I figured I needed to build a base so why not make eggs in a basket?

Or egg in a hole? Or birds nest? I’m not sure what it’s called but it’s delicious. 

And easy! 

You just  need a piece of bread, butter and an egg. 

1. Heat skillet over medium heat 

2. Butter both sides of the bread 

3. Cut a circle in the middle of the bread. I use the top of a wine glass but you can use a cookie cutter. Would be cute to do a shape for the kids. 

 
4. Place bread into skillet and pour your  egg inside the hole. 

  

  
5. Let cook until bread is golden on bottom and egg is solid white. Add salt and pepper to taste. 

6. Flip over and allow to cool until other side is golden. Remove from heat and enjoy. 

  
The middle bread you cut out is the best part!! Technically you should use it for dipping but I like to savor the flavor and enjoy it on its own :). 

Leave a Reply

