Bacon Wrapped Errything

    
Okay okay so the infamous Velveeta makes a debut again on this plate. But hey- everything else was made from scratch. I promise! 

  
Our goal was to save money this Valentine’s Day so we stayed in all weekend. I decided to make Marks favorite meal, meatloaf. 

And of course,  if I’m ever going to get him to eat his veggies, I have to wrap them in meat. 

I always hate when I find a recipe on a blog and I have to scroll through the whole damn write up just to get the recipe so here is the recipe first! 

Bacon Wrapped Meat Loaf

What you need:

  • 1 ½ lb ground beef
  • Package of bacon ( I recommend thick cut) 
  • 1 medium onion 
  • 2 cloves of garlic 
  • 1 egg 
  • 1 tablespoon of butter 
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire 
  • 1 teaspoon Thyme  
  • 1 cup bread crumbs
  • 1 cup milk 
  • 1 cup ketchup
  • 2 tablespoons spicy brown mustard
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar 
  • 1 cup fried onions 

The Process:

  1. Heat skillet on medium heat. Dice onion and add to skillet with butter. Allow onions to carmelize for about 5-7 min. 
  2. Dice and add garlic to skillet for about 3 minutes. 
  3. Preheat oven to 350 and line a baking sheet with foil 
  4.  Combine, ground beef, milk, egg, Worcestershire , breadcrumbs, thyme and milk in a mixing bowl. 
  5. Add in onions and garlic.  Mix together (you’ll prob baby need to use your hands) but be careful not to overwork the meat.
  6. Shape the mixture into even discs of meat. Depending how big you make them you should end up with 6-10 discs. 
  7. Wrap a slice of bacon around each disc and place on baking sheet. 
  8. In a small bowl mix together ketchup, mustard and brown sugar. Scoop this mixture on top of each disc. 
  9. Place fried onions on top of ketchup mixture. 
  10. Bake in oven for 1 hour and 35 min or until bacon is crisp and golden. 

It’s delicious I tell ya! I do not typically like meatloaf but as my papa said “wrap it in bacon and it’s like filet mignon”. 

 Onions and garlic almost done   

  

I actually forgot to mix in the onions before forming my discs so the pan is a little messy from me redoing them. 

 
 Wrapped up in deliciousness. 

 Toppings added. Mark likes extra ketchup so I squeezed some more on his. That’s not for me though. Too sweet! 

Pop em in the oven and they come out like this. Now I probably should’ve pulled them out a bit sooner but they were still great. 

   
  
As for the Bacon Wrapped Asparagus, that’s easy! 

What you need : 

  • Bundle of asparagus 
  • 1/2 cup Soy sauce 
  • Bacon 
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar 
  • 2 tablespoons butter 

The process:

  1. Line a baking sheet with foil
  2. Separate  the  bundle of asparagus into smaller even bundles. I used 5-6 stalks per bundle. 
  3. Wrap each bundle in bacon. I start from the head of the stalk moving to bottom but it doesn’t matter. 
  4. Place on baking sheet. 
  5. Melt butter in a small pot over medium heat. Add in soy sauce and brown sugar. Stir and cook for about 3-5 minutes.
  6. Brush the soy sauce mixture on top of the asparagus. I actually end up just pouring it over to make sure all stalks are covered. I also added some freshly ground pepper for taste. 
  7. Place in oven at 350 and bake for 45 min.

Here’s a before and after:

  
 
  

Leave a Reply

